My Favorites

I toyed with the idea of starting a blog before. In fact, several years ago, I went so far as to pick out a name and write my first post. Within minutes of publishing, I promptly deleted it. In the past year, I made some changes in my professional goals. I decided to leave the private school that I loved teaching at in order to expand my teaching experience at a much larger public school. As part of that transition, I was seeking professional support when I discovered the MTBoS. While I have primarily stuck to reading posts on Twitter and a variety of blogs, I have often considered what I might have to contribute. It is intimidating to consider what I do that may be unique or worth sharing in any way, but when I read about the MTBoS 2017 Blogging Initiative, I thought, “Why not? Let’s go for it!”

My favorite thing over this past week was an activity that I planned in order to address an area of weakness that another colleague was frustrated with. He was working with students on sketching angle bisectors, perpendicular bisectors, medians, and altitudes within triangles and his students were having a hard time picturing reasonable answers. I was trying to brainstorm ways that students could visually check their answers and the idea of using plastic transparency sheets came to me. So I made up a template of 8 different triangles and gave students directions of which segments to draw (i.e. draw an angle bisector from angle A to segment BC, etc.). When they were done, they got a transparency answer key. They lined up the triangles and were able to see very clearly how close their segments were to mine. I was pleased that I was able to find a way to use transparencies in a different way (since I have never had a classroom with an actual overhead projector) and address a colleague’s concern. He tried it and loved it too!

So this week I got a new favorite idea and I will have to see where else I could try to use it.

One thought on “My Favorites

  1. Pingback: 2017 Week One Round Up of #MTBoS Blog Posts | Exploring the MathTwitterBlogosphere

Leave a Reply

